Just asking…


Does anybody else find it ironic that Churches and cemeteries are frequently connected….AND that in Matthew 8:22…But Jesus said unto him, “Follow me; and let the dead bury their dead”.  and in Luke 9:59-60 To another he said, “Follow me.” But he said, “Lord, let me first go and bury my father.” 60 And Jesus  said to him, “Leave the dead to bury their own dead. But as for you, go and proclaim the kingdom of God.”  ~um…wouldn’t this essentially mean that Churches are for the “Spiritually Dead”?  I mean what he is telling the guy is “leave everything, your family, your community, your synagogue/church and actually follow me like some sort of “Deadhead” following the “Grateful Dead” from concert to concert. “Hey, We’ll go hang out with my buddy in Capernaum for a few  days. I’m sure he’ll let us crash at his place. We’ll party like it’s 99BM (before Me) and let everybody know that it’s all gonna end soon.”  

Hey Mom and Dad…bet you’re hating that you filled me so full of the bible NOW! You see, I might not have an eidetic memory so maybe I can’t remember the verse number, but I remember the verse, probably a whole lot better than most people. Which BTW is where more than a total shit-ton of my cognitive dissonance comes from…Because where the bible contradicts itself  (oh and it does that lots, more so in fact than not) “I” keep remembering BOTH scriptures….and I can google. Believe it or not, most of my help comes from christian bible study type websites.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

